MFDS English Homepage

Home Home ABOUT MFDS History


  • 2013

    Revision on the Government Organization Act (2013.3.22)
    Elevated agency status; The Ministry of Food and Drug Safety (MFDS)
    Organization is restructured and expanded following the consolidation of food management system which now includes agricultural, livestock and fisheries products.
    Headquarter: 7 Bureaus, 1 Office (Planning and coordination), 43 Divisions
    Affiliated Agency: 1 Institute (6 Departments, 39 Divisions), 6 Regional Food and Drug Administrations (13 Imported Food Inspection Centers)
  • 2012

    1 Headquarter, 5 Bureaus, 52 Divisions, 1 Team, 1,489 Employees
  • 2011

    Established Emergency Planning Office under the Planning & Coordination Bureau.
    Abolished GMP and Quality Research Team under the National Institute of Food and Drug Safety Evaluation.
    Established Biopharmaceutical Quality Management Division under Biopharmaceuticals & Herbal Medicine Bureau.
    Established Cell & Gene Therapy Division under Biopharmaceuticals and Herbal Medicine Evaluation Department.
    Changed Advanced Therapy Products Division to Recombinant Protein Products Division.
    Reorganized the Medical Devices Evaluation Bureau based on the different clinical fields. Diagnostic Medical Devices Division, Therapeutic Medical Devices Division and Medical Materials and Supplies Division changed to Cardiovascular Devices Division, Orthopetic & Restrorative Devices Division, and Dental & Gastroenterology Devices Division.
    Established High-Tech Medical Devices Division
  • 2010

    The National Tax Service transferred Liquor Safety Management responsibilities to the KFDA.
    Adverse Effect inspection Team of the Nation Institute Food and Drug Safety Evaluation was abolished and became Pharmaceutical Safety Information Team under Pharmaceutical Safety Bureau of the KFDA.
    Evaluation Science Division of the NIFDS changed their name to Pharmaceutical Standardization Research and Testing Division.
    The KFDA relocated to Osong Health Technology Administration Complex, Osong, ChungBuk during November.
  • 2009

    The KFDA Headquarters was previously comprised of 1 Officer, 5 Bureaus(5 Departments), 65 Divisions, but the composition was changed to 1 Officer, 5Bureaus(1 Officer and 4 Departments), 48 Divisions. Criminal Investigations Office, and Foreign Inspection Division were established.
    National Institute of Toxicological Research was transformed into National Institute of Food and Drug Safety Evaluation(3 Departments, 18 Divisions > 3 Departments, 29 Divisions)
  • 2008

    Innovation Planning Officer, and Laboratory Test Management Team were abolished, and creation and innovation Officer, and Laboratory Audit Team were newly formed instead.
    Headquarters were changed to bureaus, and the Team-based System became Division-based.
    The responsibility of treating and caring narcotic addicts was transferred to the ministry for Health, welfare and Family Affairs.
  • 2007

    Spokesperson system was introduced for the advanced system for the press coverage, KFDA also reinforced its staff and newly created 5 teams.
  • 2006

    Bureau for Risk Management, information Management Team, Customer Support Team, Novel Food Team, Clinical Management Team, Herbal Medicine Management Team, Cosmetics Evaluation Team, Biologics Management Team, Herbal Medicine Evaluation Team, Medical Devices Quality Management Team were founded.
  • 2005

    The organization of 2 Offices, 2 Bureaus, and 6 departments was restructured into 6 Headquarters, and 4 Departments.
    Teambased system was introduced to all Divisions.
  • 2004

    The organization was restructured with the creation of Medical Devices Management Division, and Bioproduct Technical Support Division.
  • 2003

    KFDA newly established Health Functional Food New Division, Health Functional Food Standardization Division, and Biologics Standardization Division along with the increase in staff.
  • June, 2002

    The National Center of Toxicological Research was reorganized to National institute of Toxicological Research.
  • February, 1998

    The Korea Food and Drug Safety Headquarter was raised to the status of administration(Korea Food and Drug Adminstration)
  • April, 1996

    Korea Food and drug Safety Headquarter and six Regional Offices were established.
    Four departments of the National Institute of Health were reorganized to six Safety Evaluation departments.
    The National Institute of public Health Safety Research was reorganized to National Center of Toxicological Research.